Codemasters


Go Back   Codemasters Forums > Codemasters Community > Codemasters - General Discussion
Sign In
Register on CodeM

Codemasters - General Discussion Anything you'd like to discuss about Codemasters. This board is NOT for games that have their own forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2008, 06:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5
Exclamation Codemasters virus email !?

i got an email today wich appeared to be from "codem@codemasters.com"

---------------------
Dear Wolfsdale,
Because of a virus infiltrated to our site your confidential information may be threatened, please install the patch, which prevents the spread of the virus to avoid the loss of your information.

Patch:
<link removed>

Administration of CodeMasters.co.uk.
---------------------

is this legit?
i couldnt find any evidence from the email itself, but i didnt follow that link
but i have serious doubts about the email and i fear this might be a fraud

any official response on this would be appriciated

i have looked on the forums, and news page, but didnt find any information about this

Last edited by Satine; 09-09-2008 at 08:15 AM.
Wolfsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Default

I was wondering same as I got e-mail too.
Elayna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Default

DO NOT OPEN THAT FILE!!!!


check this : http://www.virustotal.com/analisis/4...7748d23b00791d


it seems codemasters have a problem

Below is the email + Headers.

<snip>
Dear JerryHopper,
Because of a virus infiltrated to our site your confidential information may be threatened, please install the patch, which prevents the spread of the virus to avoid the loss of your information.

Patch:
<link removed>
Administration of CodeMasters.co.uk.
[/quote]

Well, it seems somebody hit Apache and succeeded.
At least you dont have to worry about your private information anymore, As they are already compromised.

They are able to send people this email, which makes it quite convincing that they have access to the database.

The funny thing is that the email doesnt completly lie. - A virus did infiltrate!

Sidenote : its somehow interesting and funny that we ( me and above posters ) are dutch - is that a coincidence?


*tip for CodeM : Install ModSecurity on your apache!

Last edited by Satine; 09-09-2008 at 08:34 AM. Reason: Removed links and information
JerryHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 07:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Watchdog
 
ManDay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: /bin/
Posts: 1,532
Default

Forgive me my ignorance but what makes you so certain that this is not a spoof? I see no indication for the webserver having been compromised.

E: Errm well, I see your point. The link points to an .exe under the Codemaster domain... Nonetheless the mail appears to be an apparent spoof. Dangerous tho.
__________________
<Izidune> Hellz yeah
<LunarBlue> amen

[sigpic][/sigpic]

Last edited by ManDay; 08-09-2008 at 07:42 PM.
ManDay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1
Lightbulb Remove the patch.exe from your webserver!

Another *tip for CodeM :
How about removing the patch.exe ?
That will prevent people from downloading it!
Then after that you can figure out what the cause and solution is!

Euhmmm, I am Dutch too

Last edited by Flits; 08-09-2008 at 08:13 PM.
Flits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2008, 08:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Default

Well, at least i have my first OFP2 coverage

...Although i would have wanted that it was about another subject...


http://www.armedassault.eu/Latest-Ne...s-a-virus.html


Hopper out!

Note: the forum software is outdated! this is like asking for problems!
__________________
Ask your question to the OFP2 Developers! http://www.armedassault.eu/ask_codemasters/

Sahrani Radio - Ammo for your mind! http://www.armedassault.eu

Last edited by JerryHopper; 08-09-2008 at 10:35 PM.
JerryHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 08:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Director, Community Relations
 
Satine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Near Codemasters HQ, UK.
Posts: 10,542
A COG representative has posted in this thread

Hi folks,

We would like to stress that this mail did NOT come from Codemasters.

It would appear someone has spoofed our e-mail address which makes it look as though the e-mail comes from us.

We are investigating the e-mail in question and will take action accordingly. In the meantime we'd like to ask you all to delete the e-mail and especially do NOT click on any links that appear in it as they could be malicious scripts/files that could harm your PCs and/or cause data loss.

In the future, should you receive any e-mail that appears suspect please let us know immediately via an e-mail to custservices@codemasters.com Please do not post the mail to the forums where other users could fall victim to any potential malicious attacks.

Thank you,
__________________
Satine.
*****

Director, Community Relations
Community blog: www.maycontaingamers.com
Follow me on Twitter


Sign up for the Jumpgate Beta now!
Try LOTRO FREE for 14 days.
Try the DDO free trial.


To make a complaint about in-game customer support, please write to:
lotro.gmreport@codemasters.com - LOTRO
ddo.gmreport@codemasters.com - DDO
Satine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 08:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 8
Default

thanks for the confirmation, and removal of the file.
__________________
Ask your question to the OFP2 Developers! http://www.armedassault.eu/ask_codemasters/

Sahrani Radio - Ammo for your mind! http://www.armedassault.eu
JerryHopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 08:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Satine
Hi folks,

We would like to stress that this mail did NOT come from Codemasters.

It would appear someone has spoofed our e-mail address which makes it look as though the e-mail comes from us.

We are investigating the e-mail in question and will take action accordingly. In the meantime we'd like to ask you all to delete the e-mail and especially do NOT click on any links that appear in it as they could be malicious scripts/files that could harm your PCs and/or cause data loss.

In the future, should you receive any e-mail that appears suspect please let us know immediately via an e-mail to custservices@codemasters.com Please do not post the mail to the forums where other users could fall victim to any potential malicious attacks.

Thank you,
And I would like to stress that this mail was sent to an account i ONLY used at Codemasters, so you guys got hacked. I suggest you tell us which data could been/was stolen so we can act. Like did they get Real name or even billing info?
me777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2008, 01:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5
Default

indeed,
they knew both my username AND my email adress,
and every indication led to the codemasters domain, even the file we were supposed to download was on the codemasters domain,
so excuse me for posting this, but this is a job well done by the hacker and a serious issue for codemasters but fine, the next time i get emails that my personal information has been taken up for grabs from the codemasters domain, i will remain silent and send you an email so the other people dont know, so they get their info stolen too ?
Wolfsdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.